Dantea's Baby Names











{March 11, 2012}   Georgia City Names — Boys

Name                       Origin                          Meaning

Adrian                       Latin                              “Man of Adria” I actually really like Adrian. It’s in the 50s on the popularity list, so it has been slowly making its way to the top. Adrian was the name of a pope and several saints, so it has that going for it.

Ambrose                  Latin                              “Immortal one” I really want to like Ambrose, but I don’t like it for a first name. I do think it has a lovely sound and a slightly upper class feel to it. It comes from the same Greek root as ‘ambrosia’, the food of the gods, literally ‘belonging to the immortals.’ That makes me like it a bit more, as I love Greek things. St. Ambrose was also a doctor of the early Christian church. It also belonged to one of the four great Latin teachers of Christianity, who also developed the use of music in church.

Baxley                       English                          “Baker’s Meadow” I sort of like this. It seems like a more masculine version of Bailey. Since Bailey’s been taken by the girls, why not come up with a new version. It even has the cool nickname Bax.

Byron                        English                          “Barn for Cows” For centuries, this name was connected to Lord Byron, the poet, which gave it a sort of romantic feel. Faulkner used it as a character name in 2 of his novels and it’s seen as a name on Arrested Development. I like it much more than Brian, that’s for sure.

Chauncey                Latin                               “Chancellor” It sounds sort of like it wants to be upper class, but can’t manage it. I sort like it in the same way I like the Irish name Rory. It’s fun and has a cool sound.

Chester                     Latin                              “Fortress, Walled Town” Chester is a nice enough name. it has sort of a weird, cuddly feel to it. It does have a lot of namesakes though including Admiral Chester Nimitz (a WW2 hero), Chester Gould (creator of Dick Tracy), and Chester Bennington, lead singer of Linkin Park. It has the cool nickname Chess too!

Colton                       English                          “From the coal or dark town” Colton is a one of my favorite cowboy names and it has that trendy-ton/-on ending. I think it has a sort of rugged feel to it and Colt is a nice nickname.

Dalton                       English                          “Settlement in the valley” It’s another nice cowboyish name with the -ton ending. I don’t like it as much as Colton, but it’s still pretty nice.

Darien                       Greek                             “Gift” Darien is a variation of Darian. I really like it. The -on/-en/-an ending is super popular right now and Darius (the name Darien comes from)  is an old name, which seems popular right now. Darien combines the current trends of “old names becoming new again” with the popular ending to make it super appealing. I love the sound and the nickname Dare is awesome.

Dexter                       Latin                              “Dyer, right handed” Dexter, with that popular X, has a lot of appeal right now. To me, Dexter is one of those names with “Geek Chic” and I really love it! Dex is a pretty cool nickname too.

Edison                       English                          “son of Edward” I love the way it sounds and of course there’s the connection to the inventor Thomas Edison. I think it would be an interesting way to get to the traditional Ed- beginning and the nickname Eddy.

Emerson                   German                        “son of Emery” When used as a boys name, I immediately think of Ralph Waldo Emerson. I definitely prefer this name on a boy, but be aware, it’s getting sort of popular for girls.

Grayson                    English                         “Son of the Bailiff” Grayson is getting popular right along with Jackson and other names ending in -son. I like it more than the other -son names, for sure. I prefer the spelling Greyson and the nickname Gray/Grey is nice. Be aware, some parents are using it on girls as a unisex version of Grace, but I don’t think it’s going to go far there.

Griffin                        Welsh                            “Strong lord” I love Griffin and would use it on a baby if I could find a way to. Griffin is one of the more popular Welsh surnames, and it’s also a mythological creature, half eagle, half lion. I would use it in full, but Griff and Finn are nice nicknames.

Homer                      Greek                             “Security, Pledge” Homer has gone from being the name of a wonderful ancient Greek scribe to the name of Bart Simpson’s idiotic dad. It’s also been the pick of such celebrities as Richard Gere, Bill Murray, Anne Heche, and Matt Groening, Simpson’s creator, whose father and sons name is Homer. Because of the epic scope of The Odyssey and The Iliad, the term ‘homeric’implies work on an enormous scale, while ‘homeric laughter’ references the unrestrained laughter of the Greek gods. With all this going for it, Homer might just make a comeback.

Howard                    German                         “brave heart” This is a cool meaning, old name. Howie and Ward make it much more accessible though.  Howard is getting dangerously close to falling off the top 1000, and that’s just wrong. I think Howard is a nice, solid name, and the only one I’ve known was a genius who could do advanced math in his head…it’s a good image!

Monroe                    Scottish                        “Mouth of the Roe river” Recently I’ve decided I like the name Monroe on a boy, probably due to an interesting character in a new TV show called Grimm. Monroe is a presidential name, but it’s starting to get popular for girls. I’d just like to say that I find this name handsome and not at all attractive for girls.

Nelson                      English                          “Son of Neil” Nelson is a little bit dated, but sometimes still used to honor Nelson Mandela. Nelson mostly makes me think of the bully from the Simpson’s. The one that always yells “Ha Ha!” I think it could manage a comeback though.

Oliver                        Latin                              “Olive tree” Oliver is number 1 in England right now for the second year in a row, and it’s reached number 88 here. Why? It’s energetic and good natured and stylish all at once. Not to mention that the olive tree is a symbol for peace. I really like it and Ollie is a cute nickname for a child.

Rex                             Latin                              “King” Love Rex. It’s sleek and attractive and similar to the ever popular Max. It fits right in with other X names that are getting attention such as Max, Pax, Jax, Lux…Love it.

Rupert                       German                        “Bright Fame” I find Rupert charming but a little…eh. It has always been sort of popular in Britain but it never really peaked here. I think if I met a little Rupert, I might like it better.

Shiloh                        Hebrew                         “he who is to be sent” Haunting biblical and Civil War place-name; now unisex — especially after the mega-high-profile Brangelina couple picked it for their daughter. I love this name on a boy and Shy is a great nickname.

Sylvester                  Latin                              “From the forest” I really wish this name would shake off its image of a cartoon cat. It was the name of 3 popes and Sylvester Stallone makes it a little more wearable, but I find it unlikely anyone will use it right now. Shame, it’s such a nice name.

Tate                            English from Norse      “Cheerful” I actually really like Tate as far as one-syllable names go. It’s got a lively sound and a nice meaning.

Tucker                       English                          “Fabric pleater” Tucker has a lot more spunk than many of the other -er names out there right now (Parker, Walker, etc). I also love the nickname Tuck.

Weston                      English                          “From the Western town” I like Weston a bit, but it feel almost like a stereotypical cowboy name. the best part, in my opinion, is the nickname West.

Zebulon                       Hebrew                       “To give honor to” An old testament name. I’ve actually known a Zebulon, he was a football player and very popular. He went by Zeb. I think it could work on the right boy.



Leave a comment

et cetera