Dantea's Baby Names











{May 10, 2012}   Kentucky County Names

Boys

Name                        Origin                          Meaning

Adair                          Scottish                         “Oak tree ford” I really like Adair. It has flare and spunk, but it’s not unrecognizable. I love the nickname Dare.

Allen                           Celtic                              “Handsome” It is a handsome name, but it seems a little more suited for a dad or grandpa to me. However, there are several children I work with who have Allen as their middle names, so it might be geared for a comeback.

Anderson                  Scandinavian             “Son of Anders” For reasons unknown to me, Anderson has been getting more and more popular. Maybe it’s because the the news anchor Anderson Cooper? In any case, Anderson has a bunch of literary namesake including the famous Hans Christian Anderson. It has a nice sound and the nickname Anders, which is kind of cute.

Boone                         English                          “A blessing” Boone is one of those that gives me a cowboyish feel. It makes me think of a strong, dark and handsome cowboy though. Then I think of Daniel Boone, the frontiersman.

Carlisle                       English                          “From the walled city’ This is definitely a stuffy name. I think it has a nice sound, but it’s not even on the top 1000. However, it might gain some unexpected popularity because of the character in Twilight, Carlisle Cullen.

Carter                         Occupational              “transporter of goods by cart” I like the way Carter sounds, but I mostly like that it’s presidential.

Christian                   Greek                              “Follower of Christ” Christian is a little overly pious to me, but a lot of people see it as a direct statement of their faith. I’m of the opinion that your child isn’t a personal statement about yourself, but to each their own. It’s got Chris, which is nice.

Clark                           English                           “scribe, secretary, cleric, scholar, clerk” Clark immediately makes me think of Clark Gable or Gone With the Wind Fame, and Clark Kent, Superman’s alias. It’s only in the 600s and that’s great! You could bring it back.

Clay                             English                           Clay is a short, southern charm kind of name. It could make a comeback, but I foresee it being a short from of Clayton and Clayborne for a long time yet.

Elliott                         Hebrew?                        “The Lord is my God” Love Elliott! It’s got several proper spellings and has a lot going for it. It’s uncommon but not weird either, it has literary cred, and just has a lovely sound.

Floyd                          Welsh                             “Gray haired” And does this name sound gray haired! I honestly can’t picture this name without thinking of the country; gray haired grandfather rocking on his front porch.

Franklin                     English                          “Free landowner” Frank is okay, Franklin reminds me of a green turtle from children’s cartoons and Franklin Roosevelt. The latter isn’t that bad of a name sake in my opinion.

Grant                          Scottish                         “Large” I’ve only known one Grant, and he was a little know-it-all. I find Grant to be no nonsense and strong and also with a little bit of a cowboy feel.

Grayson                    English                           “Son of the Bailiff” Grayson is getting popular right along with Jackson and other names ending in -son. I like it more than the other -son names, for sure. I prefer the spelling Greyson and the nickname Gray/Grey is nice. Be aware, some parents are using it on girls as a unisex version of Grace, but I don’t think it’s going to go far there.

Harlan                      German                           “Rocky land” It has a pleasant enough sound but all I can think of the sci-fi writer Harlan Ellison. I really dislike that writer, so it’s bad for me, but you may love him! Harley could be a cool nickname.

Henry                       German                           “estate ruler”  Henry’s been hovering the the Top 100 for a while now, but it’s getting dangerously close to being in the Top 50. Henry has an old feel, but still seems accessible.  Henry has long been a royal name.

Jackson                    English                            “Son of Jack” Jackson is getting mega popular. I’ve known several under the age of 10 and I can’t see it losing steam in the near future. The best part about this name is the nickname Jack or Jacks.

Lewis                         English                            “Renowned Warrior” This is a neat name and the phonetic spelling of the French Louis. It’s been #1 or 2 in Scotland since 2000 according to my sources, but parent’s in the USA are just noticing it. Lewis Carroll, of Alice in Wonderland fame, is probably the most famous bearer of the name here in the US. Louis Armstrong pronounced his name like Lewis. It’s got a great nickname, Lew.

Logan                        Scottish                          “Small Hollow” Logan is a Scottish surname that originated from a place of the same name in Ayrshire. It’s got a nice sound to it, but is pretty popular at #17 on the list right now. Wolverine, known as Logan, from the X-men comics and movies, gave the name a big boost too.

Martin                       Latin                                “Warlike” Very interesting meaning for such an old fashioned, geeky name. This county was named for John W. Martin, the governor when this county was named. Martin is starting to try to make a comeback, just like Arthur or Vincent or any of those other old man names. It sounds geeky, but there are several great namesakes; Martin Luther (founder of Protestantism), Martin Luther King ( civil rights activist), and eighth President Martin Van Buren.

Monroe                     Scottish                          “Mouth of the Roe river” Recently I’ve decided I like the name Monroe on a boy, probably due to an interesting character in a new TV show called Grimm. Monroe is a presidential name, but it’s starting to get popular for girls. I’d just like to say that I find this name handsome and not at all attractive for girls.

Nicholas                   Greek                               “People of Victory” Nicholas stems from the Greek Nike, the Goddess of Victory, it is a New Testament name, and also well used in literature. And then there’s St. Nicholas who, in addition to bringing bags of toys once a year, is also the patron saint of schoolchildren, mechanics, sailors, scholars, brides, bakers, travelers, and Russia, where the name was a star of the czarist dynasty. Nick is a manly nickname, Nicky is cute, and Cole is just handsome.

Owen                          Welsh                               “young warrior” Owen, a resonant Celtic name, has jumped almost three hundred places in a decade, with every indication it will go higher. It’s a classic with a genuine history, yet it’s right in step with the modern trend for two-syllable, n-ending boys’ names. I really like Owen.

Rowan                       Tree                                   The name of a tree with red berries commonly found in Scotland (and said to ward off witches).

Russell                      French                              “fox colored” Russell has some of that western sounding charm, which is nice. Russ is a good nickname, but the name is dropping in popularity as far as I’m aware.

Scott                          English                              “from Scotland” Scott is one of those short and strong names that I don’t see why it’s not more popular. I like it well enough and even work with a little boy whose middle name is Scott. Like Logan, Scott is another name from the X-Men franchise that deserves a good boost.

Spencer                    English                              “house steward, dispenser of provisions” This is a nice name, but its one of those that always feels like it won’t grow up well. I don’t know why that is, but there you go. I do like that it sounds fun and friendly though.

Todd                          English                              “Fox” I love Todd. It’s very handsome and still attractive on a child. I really wish more people would consider this one. I think it could go along with all the other strong and manly one syllable boy names.

Warren                     French                               “Park Keeper” This was on my own list at one time. Just like Truman, it’s also a presidential name. It sounds strong and handsome, old fashioned but not too old fashioned. I think Warren is ready for a come back.

Wayne                      English                               “Maker of Wagons” Because of John Wayne, this name feels like a cowboy name to me. However, it’s not one of the cool cowboy names anymore, more like a dad name.

Girls

Name                        Origin                          Meaning

Bell                              Occupational              “Ringer of the Bell” I love Bell/Belle all by itself. I like it as a nickname for Isabelle, Arabelle and other things like that, but I do love Bell by itself.

Casey                         Irish                                “Brave in battle” Casey seems like it would just fit right in with Bailey, Hayley, Kayley…I like it fine, but it’s pretty boring too.

Fayette                      French                         This is historically a shorter variation of the French Lafayette. I think it sounds very feminine though. I love the name Fay for a girl and all its variations, and I would consider this as a cute, but still sophisticated form.

Jessamine                flower                           Earlier spelling for Jasmine. Pronounced JEH-sah-meen. Popular in England but just getting it well deserved uprising here. Nickname Possibilities: Jess, Jessie, Jessa

Laurel                        Latin                            “Laurel Tree” I like Laurel a little bit. I like its connection to mythology and Greek/Roman royalty more than the name itself. It would be a good choice for anyone trying to honor a Laura in the family.

Rowan                       Tree                              The name of a tree with red berries commonly found in Scotland (and said to ward off witches). I love the nickname Row.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
