Dantea's Baby Names











{April 22, 2012}   Iowa City Names — Boys

 

Name                      Origin                         Meaning

Alden                        English                         “Old wise friend” It’s another -en name, but definitely not as stylish as Aiden or that group. I think it has potential though.

Alexander              Greek                             “Defending Warrior” Alexander is a strong and extremely popular name with tons of nicknames possibilities and variations. Alexander the Great (or Alexander III) conquered a good chunk of Asia, and is perhaps the most well known of the Alexanders. There are a ton of other great Alexanders though including Alexander Hamilton, Alexander Graham Bell, and Alexander Fleming.

Alton                        English                          “Dweller at the old town” I like it a bit, but I think it sounds and looks like Dalton with the D dropped off. I think it would be fine though.

Andrew                   Greek                             “Strong and manly” Andrew seems to be one of the more appealing of the classic names. It has 2 popular nicknames, Andy (the fun and friendly nickname) and Drew (the grown up nickname). What I like most about Andrew is the less obvious nickname Anders, the spunky one.

Archer                     English                          “Bowman” Archer is a pretty cool name. It’s one of my favorite occupational names. It has the cute and classic nickname Archie, but in its long form, is very spunky.

Arthur                     Celtic                             “Bear” Love Arthur! I think of King Arthur, the head of the Knights of the Round Table. Arthur is also literary beyond the Arthurian Legends. It’s also in The Scarlet Letter and Poe uses it. Arthur is a great old name.

Ashton                    English                          “Ash Tree Place” I think Ashton is pretty good. Ash is a great name and it’s got that popular ending. I’ve heard that it’s been used on girls sometimes, but I think it’s distinctly masculine.

Baxter                     English                          “baker” I think Baxter is a cool name and Bax is just as neat as Max and Jax, but I think of a dog when I hear this name. Don’t let that deter you, most people probably won’t. Singer Ian Dury named his now-grown son Baxter and Dr. Baxter Stockman was a scientist in the “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” Series

Bennett                   English                          “Blessed” Bennett is a nice enough name. It give you Ben, like Benjamin, but seems a little less formal. I like it for the nickname Ben mostly.

Bernard                  German                        “Strong, brave as a bear” I really like Bernard. I think it has a sort of nerdy, intellectual sound to it, so I would out it in the Geek Chic category. Surprisingly, Bernard is the patron saint of mountain climbers. I like the nicknames Berry and Bear for it.

Brandon                 English                          “Broom covered hill” Brandon is a nice name, one I have a soft spot for but wouldn’t use myself. It had a great run in the top 10 from ’92 – ’98 but it’s slipped back down to #43 now. I don’t know why. It’s much more sophisticated than the current Braden.

Carson                     Irish/Scottish           “son of the marsh dwellers” Carson sounds a little like a businessman. It’s been in the Top 100 for a long time now but it’s at it’s highest at #80 right now. I think Carson is nice.

Chester                    Latin                             “Fortress, Walled Town” Chester is a nice enough name. it has sort of a weird, cuddly feel to it. It does have a lot of namesakes though including Admiral Chester Nimitz (a WW2 hero), Chester Gould (creator of Dick Tracy), and Chester Bennington, lead singer of Linkin Park. It has the cool nickname Chess too!

Clarence                 Latin                              “Bright” The name of the guardian angel in It’s a Wonderful Life is rarely heard the rest of the year because of its studious, near-nerdy image.

Clive                        English                           “Lives near a high hill” Clive almost has an upper class sort of sound to it, but I like it. I think of Clive Barker, the horror writer, and that takes it down out of those upper class sounds.

Conrad                    German                         “Brace counsel” I like Conrad. It sounds intellectual but still strong and manly. Conrad is a saints name and a German royal name.

Dawson                   Welsh                             “Son of David” I really like Dawson. It feels soft, but still good for a grown man. Despite the popular -son ending, I think this name makes an excellent choice.

Delmar                    Spanish                          “Of the sea” When I hear Delmar, I think of the George Clooney movie Oh Brother, Where Art Thou? It was the name of the soft hearted idiot, one of the three prisoners. I think it sounds like an old man, but the nickname Del makes it a little better.

Dexter                     Latin                                “Dyer, right handed” Dexter, with that popular X, has a lot of appeal right now. To me, Dexter is one of those names with “Geek Chic” and I really love it! Dex is a pretty cool nickname too.

Elliott                      Hebrew?                         “The Lord is my God” Love Elliott! It’s got several proper spellings and has a lot going for it. It’s uncommon but not weird either, it has literary cred, and just has a lovely sound.

Emerson                German                           “son of Emery” When used as a boys name, I immediately think of Ralph Waldo Emerson. I definitely prefer this name on a boy, but be aware, it’s getting sort of popular for girls.

George                    Greek                               “Farmer” Solid, strong, royal and saintly, yet friendly and unpretentious, George is in position for a comeback. George was the name of the king of Britain for 116 straight years, as well as the patron saint of England, Saint George, who, by slaying the dragon became the symbol of good conquering evil.

Gilbert                    German                           “Shining Pledge” Cool meaning, nerdy name. When I hear Gilbert, the first thing I think of is “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape?” However, like Alfred, Albert, Walter, and Frank, this name may be ready to try and make a comeback. It was actually a pretty common name in the middle ages in England and the name of a 12th century English saint.

Gray                        Color                                 Gray is my favorite color name. It’s very cool and quirky and I love it in the front or the middle. I prefer it spelled Grey though, and I also like it as a nickname for Greyson/Grayson.

Harlan                    German                             “Rocky land” It has a pleasant enough sound but all I can think of the sci-fi writer Harlan Ellison. I really dislike that writer, so it’s bad for me, but you may love him! Harley could be a cool nickname.

Harris                     English                              “Son of Harry” Harris is nice. I think it has a manish sound but it isn’t over the top. It isn’t too surnamey like Harrison but it’s newer than Harry.

Harvey                   French                              “Battle Worthy’ Love the meaning but the name is a little immature to me.  Makes me think of Sabrina the Teenage Witch and the bumbling boy she has a crush on. Actually though, this name is getting fairly popular in England. It’s in the top 50 over there. It also has some worthy namesakes too. There’s the blind 6th century saint who was said to be a monk and minstrel able to talk to animals. There was the industrialist Harvey Firestone. There’s a lot of history here. Maybe I’m wrong?

Huxley                   English                              “Inhospitable place” I actually really like Huxley. Hux is such a cool nickname, and Huck is pretty cute. When I hear Huxley, I think of author Aldous Huxley, author of Brave New World, which is great!

 

Irwin                       English                              “Boar Friend” It’s okay, but it mostly reminds me of the late Steve Irwin, the Australian who was very fond of poking dangerous animals with sticks. Might be a nice name for a boy you hope to be adventurous, but it does have a nerdy sort of feel.

Leland                    English                               “Meadow land” I think Leland is okay, but the one person I’ve met with this name didn’t wear it well. I think it would make a great middle name, and Lee or Leo are good nicknames.

Leon                        Greek                                  “Lion” This county is named for Juan Ponce de Leon, a Spanish explorer who named Florida. Leon is a very attractive Greek variation on Leo, and is one of many Lion-like names popular in Europe right now. I really like Leon. It’s a more serious and mature version of the name Leo.

Lewis                       English                               “Renowned Warrior” This is a neat name and the phonetic spelling of the French Louis. It’s been #1 or 2 in Scotland since 2000 according to my sources, but parent’s in the USA are just noticing it. Lewis Carroll, of Alice in Wonderland fame, is probably the most famous bearer of the name here in the US. Louis Armstrong pronounced his name like Lewis. It’s got a great nickname, Lew.

Logan                      Scottish                              “Small Hollow” Logan is a Scottish surname that originated from a place of the same name in Ayrshire. It’s got a nice sound to it, but is pretty popular at #17 on the list right now. Wolverine, known as Logan, from the X-men comics and movies, gave the name a big boost too.

Luther                     German                              “Army people” I really like Luther. It’s very cool and calm sounding. When I hear it, I first think of Lex Luther then I think of Martin Luther King.

Marcus                    Latin                                   “Warlike” Marcus is one of those Ancient Roman names that is coming back into popularity (along with other -us ending Roman names like Cassius). Marcus was a pretty commonplace name in ancient Rome, and among the most prominent were the emperor and stoic philosopher Marcus Aurelius, the Marcus known to us as Mark Antony, and the politician, philosopher and orator Cicero.

Maxwell                  Scottish                             “Great stream” Maxwell might be my favorite Max name. It’s not as pretentious as Maximillion or as feminine sounding as Maxence. Max is a cool nickname too. Lance Armstrong just chose it for his son and it makes me think of the Beatle’s song Maxwell’s Silver Hammer.

Miles                        Latin                                   “merciful” I like Miles, it has a cool, jazzy (think Miles Davis) sort of sound. Miles was the name of the first translator of the Bible into English–the English monk Miles Coverdale.

Milo                          Latin                                   “mild, peaceful, calm” I love Milo. It’s so bouncy and fun sounding, but I can still picture it on a grown man. The only downside that I can see is that some people might think of the Milo and Ottis kids movie.

Percival                  French                               “One who pierces the valley” Percival was the one perfectly pure Knightof the Round Table, a worthy hero. The name was invented in the twelfth century by a poet named Chretien de Troyes, for his ideal knight in the poem “Percevale, a Knight of King Arthur.” I think Percival has a sort of stuck up sound to it, but I still really like it, and Percy makes it so friendly.

Quimby                   Norse                                 “From the woman’s estate” Virtually never heard in this country — and probably not very often in Scandinavia — with a quirky quality. I sort of like it, but it makes me think of a butler for some reason.

Randall                    English                              “Shield wolf” This is an old name, but I don’t really like it. It sounds very hillbilly to me. I like other Ran- names better, but at least Randy is still a cute nickname.

Roland                     German                             “Famous throughout the land” I really like Roland. It has a chivalrous and knightly sound to it for me, and Rollo is such a cute nickname.

Rowley                    English                               “Rough clearing” I would say this like ROW-lee (the Ow like in “OW I hurt myself” or Now) but other would probably pronounce it like ROW-lee (as in Row your boat). I think it’s very cool.

Russell                     French                               “fox colored” Russell has some of that western sounding charm, which is nice. Russ is a good nickname, but the name is dropping in popularity as far as I’m aware.

Ryan                         Irish                                    “Little King” Ryan has been one of the ever popular Irish names in America. It has always sort of stayed in the top 20 or near it. I think it’s a fine, classic name.

Sheldon                   English                               “Steep sided valley” I like Sheldon, but only because of Dr. Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory. It’s definitely a nerdy name, but I still like it.

Spencer                   English                               “house steward, dispenser of provisions” This is a nice name, but its one of those that always feels like it won’t grow up well. I don’t know why that is, but there you go. I do like that it sounds fun and friendly though.

Stanley                    English                               “Near the stoney meadow” Stanley really seems nerdy to me. I don’t think it’s ready for “Geek Chic” yet, but it would be a great middle name.

Stuart                       Scottish                             “Steward” This is an ancient Scottish royal name. I like it, but I also immediately think of Stuart Little, the tiny mouse.

Thor                          Norse                                 “thunder” I love this! Thor is the powerful name of the Norse god of thunder, strength, and rain, the son of Odin, and it would make a bold statement. Thor was in Marvel Comics and has recently been made into a movie. Thor Heyerdahl was a famous Norwegian anthropologist/adventurer, author of the book Kon Tiki.

Victor                       Latin                                  “Conqueror” Victor is one of the earliest names of Christian Popes and Saints. It became popular in the English speaking world via Queen Victoria since Victor was the only masculine form of Victoria.

Vincent                    Latin                                  “Conqueror” Vincent was popular during the Middle Ages, especially among the French, who brought it to England. There are a number of St. Vincents, most famous of whom is St. Vincent de Paul, a seventeenth century French priest who organized societies of laymen to help the poor. There’s Vincent Van Gogh and actor Vince Vaughn. Vince is a strong nickname and Vinny is cute.

Walker                      Occupational                  “worker in cloth” I’m not really big on occupational names, but this one seems more western to me than anything. The W in George W. Bush stands for Walker. Then there’s “Walker Texas Ranger”.

Sebastiane says:

There are lots of great usable names on this list. I really like Miles, Luther (though I think you have to be Lutheran to pull this one off) and Stanley.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
