Dantea's Baby Names











{April 8, 2012}   Indiana City Names — Girls

Name                        Origin                       Meaning

Alexandria               Greek                          “Man’s Defender” I love Alexandria. It’s my favorite feminine form of Alexander. It’s long and elegant sounding, while having a touch of the exotic too  (I’m thinking of the Alexandria Egypt right now).  All the basic nicknames still apply: Alex, Lexie, Xandra, Ria, Lia, Alia…

Arcadia                     Greek                           “region offering peace and contentment” Arcadia, a name for an unspoiled paradise, makes an attractive alternative to the modern Nevaeh. I love the sound and history of Arcadia. It has a nice nickname of Cady which is so close to Catey that people won’t even blink. It can also have Ari, Aria, or Dia.

Ashley                       English                        “dweller near the ash tree meadow” Ashley was mega-popular in the 80s and 90s but now it’s starting to go back down while still managing to stay in the top 30. It’s pretty but I like the nickname Asha much more.

Brook                        Nature                         This is an alternate spelling to Brooke. Personally, I think the E at the end makes it look more complete. Brook is nice, if a little dated, but I think it’s a sweet name.

Celestine                  Latin                            “Heavenly” This is a very pretty name! I’ve never really liked Celeste, so this just makes it so much better. I suppose you could use Celeste as a nickname.

Cynthiana                Greek                          “Of the moon” Cynthia is very pretty and Cynthiana is very pretty too, if a little too frilly for my taste. It has a long, flowing sound. Cynthia I suppose could be a nickname, Thia and Ana could also both work nicely.

Dana                           English                       “From Denmark” This name found in both Celtic and Scandinavian mythology has gone from all-boy to almost all-girl. I can’t even begin to picture this on a boy. It does have a slightly older sound to it though, as Dana is my grandmother. This is also the birth name of Queen Latifah.

Elizabeth                  Hebrew                      “Pledged to God” Elizabeth is popular, has always been popular, and will always be popular. Elizabeth has a rich history as a name for queens and therefore, a timeless sort of style. Elizabeth has a ton of nickname possibility: Liz, Lizzy, Beth, Eliza, Libby, Bess, Ellie, Liza

Flora                         Latin                            “Flower” Flora, the Roman Goddess of Flowers and Spring, who enjoyed eternal youth, is one of the gently old-fashioned girls’ flower names that’s due for a comeback. It’s been popular in Scotland for a long time, but isn’t too popular here. I think it’s very soft and pretty and I would love to see it get more use.

Florence                  Latin                            “Flourishing, prosperous” This is another one I’ve seen thrown around a lot. I actually like Florence despite its older feel. Maybe it’s Florence and the Machine that’s given it such a boost here recently, I don’t know, but with the cute nickname Flora or Ren, I like it.

Hanna                        Hebrew                      “Grace” I know someone who recently used this spelling to honor an Anna. I also teach a Hanna spelled this way. I like it both ways, with the H and without. It’s a lovely name with a lovely sound.

Laurel                       Latin                            “Laurel Tree” I like Laurel a little bit. I like its connection to mythology and Greek/Roman royalty more than the name itself. It would be a good choice for anyone trying to honor a Laura in the family.

Lynn                         Welsh                           “Lake” I like Lynn but I definitely feel like it’s a name dated to the 70s or 80s. My mother’s middle name is Lynn and a lot of other women I’ve met her age have the middle name Lynn. I do like it though, and think it could still make a very nice middle name, but only middle as it feels incomplete in the first. Longer forms like Linnea would make a nice first name to use Lynn as a nickname.

Macy                         English                        “Hill” I like it, but it just feels like a nickname to me. It doesn’t feel like it will age well. This spelling makes me think of the store. I teach 2 Macy’s with the spellings Maci and Mace (although that last one looks like Mace as in the medieval weapon to me).

(Saint) Bernice      Greek                           “She who brings victory” I only sort of like Bernice. It’s pretty but I don’t really like the sound of it. The nickname Berry would be cute, but that’s all I really like about it.

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
