Dantea's Baby Names











{April 8, 2012}   Easter Names

Today is Easter and I hope you all have a good time hunting eggs with the little ones! Today is also Passover or a celebration of the regrowth and fertility of Spring (the original purpose of this holiday). Here’s my take on names associated with Easter, Christian, Jewish, Pagan, and everything else I can think of. Thank you to everyone at nameberry.com who helped me gather these names together.

These are not in alphabetic order this time around.

Name                  Origin                    Gender                 Meaning

Sunday                 Word                       Male/Female        Sunday became much more usable after Nicole Kidman used it for her daughter. Obviously, Easter happens on Sunday, which is how this name is associated with the holiday. Sunny is an adorable nickname.Really, Sunday in any laguage could work: Domingo (Spanish), Zondag (Dutch), Sunnuntai (Finnish), Domenica (Italian), Dimanche (French), Nedjelja (Croatian), Sonntag (German), Nedele (Czech), Niedziela (Polish), Kyriaki (Greek).

Easter                   Word                        Female                    I suppose using the word Easter itself could work, though I think this is a bit much. It would work better in the middle.

Pascal                   French                     Male                        “Easter” Pascal has a very appealing sound to it, and I like it. I do like the French look of this, but I think I prefer the Spanish version Pasqual better.

Ash                        English                    Male                         “Ash tree” Ash Wednesday is the feast that marks the start of Lent. I love Ash. It’s very strong and manly on it’s own, but could also be used as a nickname for Asher or Ashton or even Ashley for a girl. And while we’re talking about Ash Wednesday, Wednesday would be a fine name too.

Palma                   Latin                         Female                   Palm Sunday is celebrated the week before Easter, commemorating the entry of Christ into Jerusalem where He was greeted by crowds waving palm branches. I think Palma is nice, but not my style.

Mary                     Hebrew                   Female                   “Bitter” I’m talking about Mary Magdalene here. She was the last witness to the crucifixion and the first person to see Jesus after the resurrection. I really like the thought of using her last name, Magdalene, or Magdalena.

Arley                    English                    Male                        “From the Rabbit meadow” I sort of like Arley, except that it sounds like you’re mispronouncing Harley. Obviously this one has everything to do with the Easter Bunny.

Leveret                French                    Male                        “Young Rabbit” I really like this French name. The Rabbit is one of the symbols of fertility for the Easter holiday, or the thing that brings eggs, and this is definitely nicer than Arley in my opinion.

Cruz                      Spanish                   Male                        “Cross” In the Latino community, this one was popular before Victoria and David Beckham used it. I’ve been seeing it around more and more, so I’m sure it’s gaining in popularity. The cross is the symbol of Jesus and that’s how this relates.

Pesah                   Hebrew                   Female                   “Spared” This is the Hebrew name for Passover, which would sort of be like naming your kid Easter too. Pesah has an interesting sound, but makes me think of pessimist. I think it would be nice on someone of Jewish or Hebrew background.

Bluma                   Yiddish                  Female                   “Flower” This is a pretty name that sounds like it should mean Bloom but means flower. Obviously flowers have to do with Springtime.

Chani                    Hebrew                  Female                   This is a name derived from Channah. She was the mother of the prophet Samuel in the Bible.

Anastasia            Greek                      Female                   “Resurrection” Related to the Greek work Anastasis which means “upstanding or rising up”, this is a name that brings to mind the Christian resurrection of Jesus, which is what Easter is all about for the Christians. I think it’s a beautiful name that deserves a ton more love than it gets. Anne, Anna, Annie, Tia, Sia, Stacy, those are all nicknames.

Chava                   Hebrew                  Female                   “Life” Anything meaning Life could work well as Spring time is all about the rejuvenation of life. I love the way this name sounds, but the hard CH sound that the Hebrew language needs for this name would be a problem for English speakers. Hava would be much easier.

Zoe                        Greek                      Female                   “Life” This name is pretty popular, but I still love it. It feels so bubbly and happy to say. There are different ways to spell it too: Zooey, Zoey, Zoee, and the little girl in my daycare is Zoe with umlauts over the E.

Lilies are lovely flowers that have a Christian/Easter connection.

Lily                       Flower                    Female                   Lily is a very popular baby name. It’s sweet and fun, but so overdone. Personally, I like other Lily names with Lily as a nickname: Lilianna and Lilia are my favorites.

Shoshana           Hebrew                   Female                   “Lily” This name is very cute and Shana gives it a balanced nickname. Since the name means Lily, it could have that same connection to Easter as the Lily flower. Susanna is a more “english” form of the name and I prefer Suzanne and Suzette.

Crina                    Romanian             Female                    “Lily” I actually really like this. It has a sort of soft sound, very feminine and sweet.

Obviously Easter happens in the Spring, and springtime is the time for regrowth and birth.

Eastre                  Greek                      Female                    Pronounced AY-strah, this is an ancient word for Spring that clearly relates to the word Easter. I think it has a very pretty sound.

Aviva                   Hebrew                  Female                   “Spring”  Aviva is a very pretty Hebrew name that simply means Spring. I love the sound of it and the nickname Vivi.

April                    Month                     Female                   April is the month that Easter happens in. I get called April a lot (even though it’s not my name) and so I can attest that people really seem to like the name. They always tell me April is a lovely name until I tell them I’m not April. I prefer the French Avril.

Cerelia                Latin                        Female                   “Relating to Springtime” This is another Spring inspired choice and it certainly is lovely. It has the same kind of feel as Cecelia but more exotic.Ceres, Ria, Lia are nice nicknames.

Haruki                 Japanese               Male                        “Spring Child” This is a very nice name for anyone with Japanese heritage. It might sound weird on someone who isn’t Asian though. Ru is a cool nickname. Haru is an adorable nickname.

Jarek                   Slavic                      Male                        “Spring” I really like this name, but pronounced Ja-rek instead of the traditional Yah-rek. I think it sounds very masculine and handsome.

Rabiah                Arabic                    Female                   “Spring” This is a lovely, flowing name. It definitely sounds exotic and I can’t really picture it on a Caucasian child, but prove me wrong. It’s very pretty and I’d love to see it used.

Neo                      Latin                       Male                        “New” New growth, new birth, new season, new whatever. Names that mean new might work fine for an Easter baby. Neo is a great name and I love the sound, but it still might be associated with The Matrix.

Names the mean Green would be a good choice for an Easter baby, as Springtime is full of Green Growth.

Zelenka              Czech                      Female                   “green, new, fresh, innocent” zeh-LAIN-kah. This is a great name! It sounds exotic but approachable and very pretty too. The biggest issue I can see is the pronunciation. I would have said it zeh-LENK-ah.

Beryl                    Jewel                      Female                  “sea green jewel” Beryl is very old fashioned, but the nickname Berry just spices it up so much! I think it could definitely make a comeback. Berilo is a cool boys version too.

Chloe                   Greek                      Female                  “young green shoot” I love Chloe. It’s a Greek poetic name, which gives it a lot of marks with me, and has a lovely, springy sound. The name just feels like it’s bubbling with energy.

Emerald              Jewel                      Female                  This is the ultimate Green Gem, but it’s a little much for me. I think it would be very pretty and cool in the middle name spot but in the first place it makes me think of strippers.

Esmeralda         Spanish                  Female                    “Emerald” Esmeralda is a lovely name. Personally, I dislike Esmeralda as the actually book The Hunchback of Notre Dame is pretty depressing, but I do love the sound, and the nickname Esme, Essy, and Mera are very pretty.

Jade                     Jewel                       Female                  Another green gemstone, this one doesn’t feel as stripperish as Emerald does, so I think it could work great in the first spot. I know a lovely little girl with the middle name Jade.

Midori                 Japanese               Female                  “Green” I know a little girl named Midori too. It has a fun and playful sound and the nickname Middy or Minnie or Dori are all very cute, but since my husband is a state certified bartender, all I think of is the Green Liqueur.

Sunrise and dawn are the time when Churches have their special service I think because that’s when Jesus rose, but also the sun rising is symbolic of a new day, a new time for rebirth, to rise up.

Alba                     Latin                       Female                   “sunrise” Alba is lovely and soft. I don’t have a lot to say about it other than that it is lovely and would make a wonderful choice.

Altan                   Turkish                  Male                        “Dawn” This has a slightly exotic sound, but I can’t see any way to really mispronounce it. Maybe this could be a variant to Alvin?

Zoran                  Serbian                  Male                        “Light of dawn” This name has a very cool sound! I love it. It has the popular -an ending like the other Aiden, Brayden, whatever names out there, but I can’t see it getting lost in the crowd too much with the stylish Z.

Roxana               Persian                  Female                   “Dawn” Roxana was the wife of Alexander the Great, which makes this name seem very cool to me. I love the sound and Roxy is such a spunky nickname.

Zaria                    Slavic                     Female                   “Morning star” In their mythology, Zaria was the goddess of the morning. This name certainly has a cool, edgy sound. I would love to meet a little girl named Zaria.

Now, I’ll be getting in the mythological things. The gods and goddesses typically worshiped at this time of year and any other god or goddess or whatnot that seems to fit with the Spring, Growth, Green, Morning, Dawn, Fertility and all those things theme. These choices will be more daring for sure.

                                                                 

Eostre/Eostra   Greek                     Female                  She was the dawn Goddess of Fertility and the one the season started out being about. Her name is pronounced eh-OH-strah. I think it’s very pretty but also probably better left to the middle or the adventurous parents. Other variations on her name are Ostare (0h-star-ray), Ostara, and Ausos (ow-sos).

Aurora                Latin                      Female                   “Dawn” In Roman mythology, Aurora was the name of the Goddess of the morning. It’s a beautiful name and Rory could be a very spunky nickname. The only problem I have is that some people can’t say it right.

Rhea                     Greek                     Female                  In Greek mythology, Rhea was the Titan of fertility  and motherhood. She is the sister and consort of Cronus, and mother of Zeus, Hades, Poseidon, Hera, Demeter and Hestia. Even though her name is ancient, Rhea definitely sounds like it could fit in the modern time.

Alectrona           Greek                     Female                  This is a little known Greek goddess of the morning and waking up. I see Electra getting thrown around as a daring choice and this certainly has the same feel as Electra. Electra and Allie would be cute nicknames. The problem is that it sounds sort of like Electronic.

Chloris                 Greek                     Female                  Chloris was the goddess of flowers. I think her name is lovely, and associated with the Easter holiday and springtime as this is the time for Flowers to start growing.

Thallo                   Greek                     Female                  Thallo is the goddess of spring buds and shoots. I think her name is nice enough, but better left for a middle spot.

Demeter              Greek                     Female                  Demeter was the Goddess of the Harvest and presided over the fertility of the earth. She gets to spend time with her daughter Persephone during the Springtime, which is what allows the growth of Spring. Demtri or Demetrios would be good for a boy. Demteria is a very pretty variation for a girl.

Persephone       Greek                     Female                  per-SEPH-oh-nee. I love Persephone! She is considered the wife of Hades and also a Goddess of Spring growth. Her presence on the earth during the spring months is what makes Demeter allows the growth.There’s also the Roman version of Persephone, Proserpina.

Hathor                 Egyptian              Female                  Egyptian goddess of love, beauty, music, motherhood, and joy, I think her name has a somewhat harsh sound.

Ishtar                   Babylonian         Female                  Goddess of Love, war, and fertility. This is another one I think has a harsh sound to it, but I still like it.

Cybele                  Phrygian             Female                  The Phrygian fertility goddess, had a consort, Attis, who was believed to have been born via a virgin birth. Attis was believed to have died and been resurrected 3 days later each year during this period. (these myths came about centuries before Jesus would have been born) Cybele and Attis are both lovely names.

Asherah               Semitic                Female                  Asherah was the Semitic mother goddess and another way to get the nickname Ash. I think it has a lovely sound.

Sonne/Sunna     Scandinavian    Female                 One of the origins for the day name Sunday, says it comes from the Scandinavian sun Goddess Sunna/Sonne. I think it’s very cute.

Sol                          Latin                     Male                      Another origin for the day Sunday says that it’s derived from the Roman God of the Sun, Sol (pronounced soul). Solana or Soleil (so-lay) would be very pretty for a girl.

Ceres                     Latin                     Female                 The goddess of agriculture, grain crops, fertility and motherly relationships. The Romans saw her as the counterpart of the Greek goddess Demeter. It’s where the world cereal came from.

Aditi                      Hindu                   Female                 Aditi is the Hindu goddess of the sky and fertility. I think it has a cool sound, but would probably work much better on someone with a Hindu/Indian background.

Anahita                Persian                Female                 This is the Persian goddess of water and fertility. I think this sound is very nice, and it rolls of the tongue quickly. Ana grounds the name too, as a good nickname.

Idun                      Norse                   Female                 Idun is the Norse goddess of Spring and Immortality. I’ve also seen her name written as Iduna, but I don’t know if that’s a valid way to write it or not. Either way, I prefer Iduna. It has a hard sort of sound, but is still very pretty.

Vesna                   Slavic                   Female                 This is the name of the Slavic Goddess of the springtime. It has a neat sound, what with the VES right there in the front.

Sebastiane says:

Great post! I especially like Leveret, Idun and Vesna.



Melody says:

Lovely post! I’ll definitely be referring to this later.



Wow, several names stood out to me here: Sunday, Leveret and Thallo to name a few.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
