Dantea's Baby Names











{March 22, 2012}   Illinois City Names — Boys

Name                       Origin                         Meaning

Adair                         Scottish                        “Oak tree ford” I really like Adair. It has flare and spunk, but it’s not unrecognizable. I love the nickname Dare.

Alden                         English                         “Old wise friend” It’s another -en name, but definitely not as stylish as Aiden or that group. I think it has potential though.

Alton                         English                          “Dweller at the old town” I like it a bit, but I think it sounds and looks like Dalton with the D dropped off. I think it would be fine though.

Alvin                         English                          “Noble friend/friend of elves” Alvin is nice, but it’ll be really hard to escape the little cocky chipmunk.

Arthur                      Celtic                             “Bear” Love Arthur! I think of King Arthur, the head of the Knights of the Round Table. Arthur is also literary beyond the Arthurian Legends. It’s also in The Scarlet Letter and Poe uses it. Arthur is a great old name.

Ashton                     English                          “Ash Tree Place” I think Ashton is pretty good. Ash is a great name and it’s got that popular ending. I’ve heard that it’s been used on girls sometimes, but I think it’s distinctly masculine.

Barry                        Irish                              “Spear” This is a good meaning for this name! However, despite the cool meaning, Barry isn’t very cool. Makes me think of suave Barry White, but I still don’t think it’s ready to come back.

Benson                     English                        “Son of Ben” This name is definitely not very popular as it’s sitting in the 800s. I think it’s cute and a good way to get to Ben if you don’t like Benjamin. It conjures up a different image  to me, more of the sporty, preppy type.

Bowen                      Welsh                           “Son of Owen” I’ve known one person with the last name Bowen, but it’s not too surnamey. I actually like it! Bo makes a great nickname too.

Bradley                    English                        “Wide meadow” This name is still sitting in the back end of the 100s on the popularity list, though I haven’t met a Bradley who wasn’t my mom’s age. I think Brad is a nice, sporty nickname, but be aware it’s a little dated. However, I work with a baby whose middle name is Bradley.

Byron                       English                        “Barn for Cows” For centuries, this name was connected to Lord Byron, the poet, which gave it a sort of romantic feel. Faulkner used it as a character name in 2 of his novels and it’s seen as a name on Arrested Development. I like it much more than Brian, that’s for sure.

Cameron                 Scottish                      “Crooked nose” Cameron is a popular name for boys and girls and it has a nice soft sound. I like it much better for a boy.

Carlyle                     English                        “From the walled city’ This is an alternate spelling of Carlisle. This is definitely a stuffy name. I think it has a nice sound, but it’s not even on the top 1000. However, it might gain some unexpected popularity because of the character in Twilight, Carlisle Cullen.

Chester                    Latin                            “Fortress, Walled Town” Chester is a nice enough name. it has sort of a weird, cuddly feel to it. It does have a lot of namesakes though including Admiral Chester Nimitz (a WW2 hero), Chester Gould (creator of Dick Tracy), and Chester Bennington, lead singer of Linkin Park. It has the cool nickname Chess too!

Christopher           Greek/Latin              “Bearer of Christ” Christopher is an ever popular name. I like Christopher. It’s strong but with a softer sound. It’s sometimes used to honor Saint Christopher, a third century martyr who became the protective saint of travelers, reflecting the legend of the Giant who carried the Christ child over a river. Chris is the most popular nickname but my favorites are Topher and Kit (like Christopher Marlowe).

Dale                          English                         “Valley” This name, while still masculine, seems a little outdated to me. I think it could still work, but he’ll definitely be the only one his age.

Davis                        Hebrew                        “beloved” Davis is a really nice twist on the traditional David. I actually like the surname better, and I usually don’t. Davis feels a little more edgy than David, but you still get the old nickname Dave.

Dawson                    Welsh                           “Son of David” I really like Dawson. It feels soft, but still good for a grown man. Despite the popular -son ending, I think this name makes an excellent choice.

Donovan                 Irish                             “Dark” Donovan was one of the first and most popular of the Irish surnames turned first name. I like Donovan, and I think Don and Van are great nicknames.

Dwight                     German/Dutch         “white/blond”  This seems really nerdy. I wish the character on the Office could make it better, but it doesn’t.

Easton                      English                        “East facing place” Easton is just a new take on Weston and at #145 it’s on it’s way up the list. I actually like Easton a little, but mostly for the nickname East.

Eldred                      English                        “Old counsel” So old! And that last syllable…Dred is sort of dreadful…but if you love it, don’t let me get you down.

Ellery                       Welsh                           “Benevolent” This is the Welsh form of Elijah and the Greek Elias and is fairly popular in Wales. I’ve heard of it being used for girls, but I like it much better for a boy. I might even be able to get Rhys/Reese out of this for a nickname.

Elliott                       Hebrew?                     “The Lord is my God” Love Elliott! It’s got several proper spellings and has a lot going for it. It’s uncommon but not weird either, it has literary cred, and just has a lovely sound.

Ferris                       Irish                             “Rock” I actually really like Ferris, but not for my own child. I think it’s strong and cool sounding.

Kent                          English                       “Edge” Kent is nice, but very abrupt and no-nonsense. Makes me think of Clark Kent though.

Lane                          English                       “A small path” I really like Lane for a boy. It’s a recent thing, but its definitely getting attention. It makes me think of narrow country roads.

Mark                         Latin                            “Warlike” After lagging behind other apostle names, it got popular in the 60’s and is now dropping off to the 160s. I still like Mark. It’s strong and manly.

Michael                   Hebrew                       “Who is like God?” Michael is lovely and strong. Michael is likable and sincere. In the Bible, Michael is the archangel who led the other angels to victory in a war against Satan, one of only two archangels (the other is Gabriel) recognized by Jews, Christians and Muslims alike.

Niles                         Scandinavian           “Son of Neil” I liked it on the intellectual Niles from Frasier, but I’ve never heard it in real life. I like the sound and would love to meet a little Niles.

Norris                      French                        “Northerner” Chuck Norris. That was my first thought. I don’t know how long it will take before that’s not the first thought.

Odin                          Norwegian                “Inspiration” Odin was ruler of the Norse Gods. His name is associated with a Norse word meaning “excitation” but could also mean “mind or Poetry” He is associated with war, battle, victory, death, wisdom, magic, poetry, and prophecy.

Orion                       Greek mythology    Orion is a rising star, with both mythical and celestial overtones. The mythical Orion was slain by the Goddess Artemis, and then placed as one of the brightest constellations in the night sky by Zeus. Also, Mark Twain’s brothers name is Orion.

Paxton                     Latin                            “Peace town” OOOH. Love Paxton! It’s one of my guilty pleasure names. Paxton has a lovely peaceful feel to it but the ever popular -ton/-on ending. It’s rising fast on the popularity charts, but it’s still very distinctive. I just love the nickname Pax.

Percy                        French                       Percy is prissy to me. Percy maybe got popular in the first place because of the fame of poet Percy Bysshe Shelley.

Quincy                     French                        “Estate of the fifth son” Quincy is quirky in that it’s a Q name and most Q names tend to be quirky. I kind of like Quincy but it almost feels like the name for stodgy British professor. It wouldn’t if more people would use it! Love Quinn and Quince as a nickname.

Ramsey                   English                        “Low-lying land” I actually like Ramsey on someone else’s kid. I think it has an upper class feel, but is still accessible like Rory.

Roscoe                    Norse                           “deer forest” I think it’s fine, but too much of a nickname for me. It fits in nicely with Remy, Rory, Ray, and other short and spunky R names, with the added benefit of having the very normal Ross.

Russell                    French                         “fox colored” Russell has some of that western sounding charm, which is nice. Russ is a good nickname, but the name is dropping in popularity as far as I’m aware.

(Saint) Augustine    English                    “The exalted one” I don’t like it the most, but I don’t like it the least of the August names. However, Augustine is very sophisticated, but not too sophisticated for a child. You could call him August, Auggie, or Gus.

(Saint) David         Hebrew                       “Beloved” I like David, strong and soft at the same time. Iit has deep biblical roots as the Hebrew name of the Old Testament second king of Israel, who, as a boy, slew the giant Philistine Goliath with his slingshot, then grew up to become a wise and highly cultivated leader who enjoyed music and was a poet, later providing inspiration to such great sculptors as Michaelangelo and Donatello.

(Saint) Joseph      Hebrew                       “Jehovah increases” In the Old Testament, Joseph is the twelfth and favorite son of Jacob and Rachel, in the New Testament it is the name of the carpenter husband of the Virgin Mary, mother of Christ, and Saint Joseph is the protector of working men.

(Saint) Peter          Greek                           “Rock” A classic New Testament name, Peter has actually been losing popularity. That’s great if you want a less common classic. Not only is there Saint Peter, but there’s also some nice childhood associations like Peter Rabbit and Peter Pan.

Sullivan                   Irish                             “Black-eyed one” Sullivan is sort of jaunty sounding, bouncy and fun to say with the adorable nickname Sully.

Vernon                    English                        “Place of Alders” Once aristocratic British surname that now conjures up gas pumps, tractors, and hot blacktop, as does its nickname, Vern.

Winslow                  English                        “Friends hill” Winslow is upper crust to me, interesting with a cool nickname, Win, but a little pretentious sounding.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
