Dantea's Baby Names











{March 16, 2012}   Idaho City Names — Girls

Name                       Origin                       Meaning

Avery                        English                       “Ruler of the Elves” Personally, I like it better on a boy. However, it’s being used more and more for girls. Probably it’s being used for girls because of it’s similarity to Ava and Ivory. You know, Ava would be a nice nickname.

Carey                         Irish                            “Dark, black” I find Carey dated, but with all the other -ey names getting attention for girls right now, Carey could probably make a comeback.

Carmen                     Spanish                      “Garden” This is interesting, but I don’t like it as much as Carmel or Cameron. Carey could be a good nickname for it though.

Hailey                        English                       “Hay Field” There are a dozen different variations of this name and it’s enormously popular. I’ve known a bunch of Hailey’s and several Bailey’s and Kailey’s, which are all part of the same phenomenon. Here’s all the variations just so you can see the many different ways there can be a dozen Hailey’s in one classroom: Haeley, Haelie, Haely, Haile, Hailea, Hailee, Hailie, Haily, Halea, Halee, Haleigh, Haley, Halie, Halle, Halleigh, Hallie,  Hally, Haylea, Haylee, Hayley, Haylie, Heyleigh

Kimberly                  English                       Kimberly was fairly popular in the 70s, but it’s fallen to the the #68 since then. With the popular -ly/-ley ending, I imagine it’ll get popular again. I prefer Kimber on it’s own, but love it as a nickname for Kimberly too.

Lenore                       Greek                          “Light” I actually really like Lenore. It makes me think of Edgar Allen Poe, which I love, and has a lovely but strong sound. Lenny or Nora would make great nicknames.

Ola                               Scandinavian          “Ancestor’s Relic” This is the feminine form of Olaf, and I think it has a sweet sound. I think it would take someone with the right heritage to wear this name, but it would be sweet.

Shelley                       English                      “Clearing on a bank” Makes me think of Mary Shelley, the author of Frankenstein. I’ve only met one girl named Shelley. She was a few years older than me and very smart, but a little stuck up. I think it’s pretty and could make a comeback with that -ey ending.

Viola                           Latin                          “Violet” I love Viola. It has a lot going for it too. It’s got the association with the musical instrument and Viola was a character in Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
