Dantea's Baby Names











{March 6, 2012}   Florida City Names — Boys

Name                       Origin                         Meaning

Anthony                   Latin                             “Priceless One” Anthony is strong and classic, but it is #10, which means more than 15,000 boys had this name last year. However, that shouldn’t matter if you love it. Anthony is the patron saint of Italy and the poor. It’s also a Shakespearean name via Anthony and Cleopatra.  Tony is still just as strong as the whole name.

 

Bradley                     English                         “Wide meadow” This name is still sitting in the back end of the 100s on the popularity list, though I haven’t met a Bradley who wasn’t my mom’s age. I think Brad is a nice, sporty nickname, but be aware it’s a little dated. However, I work with a baby whose middle name is Bradley.

 

Brandon                   English                         “Broom covered hill” Brandon is a nice name, one I have a soft spot for but wouldn’t use myself. It had a great run in the top 10 from ’92 – ’98 but it’s slipped back down to #43 now. I don’t know why. It’s much more sophisticated than the current Braden.

Coleman                   English                        “Servant of Nicholas” Coleman is interesting. It’s the name of about 300 saints and a mustard. I like it okay, but I much prefer Cole on it’s own.

Edgar                         German                       “Prosperous Spearman” I think Edgar sounds very old, and it makes me think of King Lear by Shakespeare and Edgar was a bad guy in there (commonly called Edgar the bastard). I only really like it because of Edgar Allan Poe. I think it could make a comeback with Edward and Edmund though.

 

Graham                     Scottish                      “Gravelly homestead” Graham is very smooth and sophisticated. It’s been popular in the UK and Scotland for a long while now, but it’s only now starting to really climb the charts here. I love it! I will let you know though, recently I saw a post on a baby name site about the pronunciation. Seems some people pronounce it Gram (with a short a sound) and some say Gray-um. I prefer the first.

Jasper                        Color/Gem/Persian    “One who brings treasure” this is also a gemstone and a pinkish orange color. Jasper is getting very popular right now, due to it’s connection with Twilight. It is a type of quartz and one of the few gem names for boys.

Lloyd                          Welsh                          “Gray” Lloyd was originally a nickname for a gray-haired man, but now the name is seeming pretty old and gray haired too.

Paxton                       Latin                            “Peace town” OOOH. Love Paxton! It’s one of my guilty pleasure names. Paxton has a lovely peaceful feel to it but the ever popular -ton/-on ending. It’s rising fast on the popularity charts, but it’s still very distinctive. I just love the nickname Pax.

Quincy                       French                        “Estate of the fifth son” Quincy is quirky in that it’s a Q name and most Q names tend to be quirky. I kind of like Quincy but it almost feels like the name for stodgy British professor. It wouldn’t if more people would use it! Love Quinn and Quince as a nickname.

Reddick                     Irish                             “Smooth Field” I like this a lot. It sounds fairly close to another name, Riddick, and it would be great for the nickname Red. The only real issue I see is the -dick at the end.

(Saint) Augustine  English                        “The exalted one” I don’t like it the most, but I don’t like it the least of the August names. However, Augustine is very sophisticated, but not too sophisticated for a child. You could call him August, Auggie, or Gus.

(Saint) Leo                Latin                            “Lion” Love Leo. I like it much more than any of the longer forms. Leo is a strong-yet-friendly name that was common among the Romans, used for thirteen popes, and it’s getting popular now. Leo has a lot going for it; its association with lions and strength, its Zodiac reference, and the O ending which is stylish right now.

Sebastian                   Latin/Greek             “person from ancient city of Sebasta” “person from ancient city of Sebasta” I see this name around the forums a lot lately and since it’s sitting at #68, I’m sure it’s bond to get popular. Sebastian is an ancient martyr name and also a disney name. Sebastian is a name with a substantial history, first as the third-century martyr whose sufferings were a favorite of medieval artists, then as the name of memorable characters in such varied works as Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night and The Tempest and Evelyn Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited. It’s got a lot of great nicknames too like Seb, baz, and Bastien (though my mother recently told me this is too close to Bastard).

Stuart                          Scottish                     “Steward” This is an ancient Scottish royal name. I like it, but I also immediately think of Stuart Little, the tiny mouse.

Trenton                      English                       “Trent’s town” Trenton is okay, but I’ve heard better. It’s been given to about 2,000 babies last year, but that’s probably for the trendy -on ending. I like Trent as a nickname though.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
