Dantea's Baby Names











{March 3, 2012}   Connecticut City Names — Girls

Name                  Origin                    Meaning

Bethany               Hebrew                   “House of figs” I actually really like Bethany. It has a very pretty, lyrical sound with the short nickname Beth. In the bible, Bethany is the name of a village just outside Jerusalem where Jesus stayed during Holy Week.

Bethel                  Hebrew                   “House of God” This is another one with the lovely nickname of Beth, but the actual name is much more dated that Bethany. I don’t really like it, but I think I would like it okay on someone else daughter. It could be cute in a quirky kind of way.

Madison               English                   “Son of Maud” Historically and boys name, it’s number 8 on the popularity list for girls. Some parent’s like the upper town feel while some are just trying to come up with another way to get at Maddy. While I don’t usually go for unisex names, this own has been on the girls side for so long now, I can’t imagine it on a boy.

Meriden                ?????                     I don’t have any information about this one, so if you do, let me know. I like it though, even if I don’t know anything about it. It has a cool sound with the trendy -en ending. Meri/Merry is a cute nickname.

Sharon                 Hebrew                   “A Plain”  Sharon is pretty dated too, like Bethel, but I think it can make a comeback too. Share is a cute nickname and Sharey/Sherrie is cute too.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
